Fan mail from some flounder…. How purposeful LinkedIn connection notes can work for you

D. Matt Scherer
4 min readApr 18, 2023

When I get LinkedIn notes from people like Mu Lin, I have childhood visions of Rocky and Bullwinkle. Some 60 years later, I remember the cartoon antlered deer’s “Fan Mail From Some Flounder” cartoon segment.

Mu Lin’s recent LinkedIn message made me think of the Jay Ward cartoon character. I wonder if I’m really getting fan mail or if is she another social media Autobot.

She is not alone in her outreach to me. On a typical day, I get three to six missives trying to sell me something. Some hail from China, trying to access my connections to the many military professionals I have helped through my work with the Military Transition Roundtable. Others are trying to sell me PMP training.

I know from experience that I have connected with total strangers, and the interaction from meeting someone new has opened my eyes to some tremendous opportunities.

One person, Laiba Javed, has shown me the international reach that LinkedIn can provide to its users. Laiba, who lives and work in Pakistan, and I discussed the difference in culture the other day. I told her I find…

--

--

D. Matt Scherer

Like a lighthouse on a foggy day, I help people either avoid the rocks or stand out in the fog of mass media or other forms of communication outreach.